The Novice Lounge
 Magpie AP as a glider??
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TheDustyPagan

4 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2006 :  08:23:42 AM  Show Profile
I'm totally new to the soaring/gliding aspect of RC Airplanes. But to get right to the point.... My question to all you experts is...

Is it possible.. (and probable).. to use a Magpie AP as a glider..?

My reason... I want to have a plane that I can keep in the air.. (on a thermal).. for a reasonable amount of time, without using the prop very much or not at all once i'm up there... That way with some luck.. (and practice).. I can take pictures for much longer than the typical 15-20 minutes or so you'd get from a (3s)LiPo-2100 pack.

So do you think the Magpie would be a considerable choice? Or am I just better off buying another plane all together?

Thanks for your advice guys!!

~TheDustyPagan~ (aka.. Tim)

Duane

24 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2006 :  12:11:48 PM  Show Profile
Any airplane can glide, it's just a question of how efficient it is at it. Given the Magpie's fairly low aspect ratio of 6 (compared to over 9 for a Gentle Lady) and a likely wing loading over 8-9 oz/sq ft, I wouldn't expect good thermal performance except on really good days. However, it does look like a good camera platform. If you buy an extra battery pack or two, you can be back up in the air while you charge a pack.

Duane
CASA, FARM, LSF
Go to Top of Page

aeajr

477 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2006 :  9:06:36 PM  Show Profile
The standard Magpie has a wing loading in the 6.5 ounce range based on the 46" slow fly wing and an all up weight of 12 ounces.

The Magpie AP has a 54" wing to help carry the greater weight. The plane is 19 ounces and a 20%larger wing area. So, even without camera or battery the plane is 50% heavier with only a 20% increase in wing area.