Mantis Building and Flying
 servos, new mantis owner tips
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lincoln

49 Posts

Posted - 09/21/2004 :  10:42:49 PM  Show Profile
Well, this may be short as the wonderful web site ate the first version and wouldn't spit it back out.

I am new to the mantis, but it is not new. Used to belong to Anker. Thanks Jose!

Wondering about servo specs. I do have some HS-85's, but they were meant for another project and I'd like to use some old mini servos which I think I still have around. How much torque required? Do they tend to break gears? (I have yet to break a gear, somehow.)

Has various dings, one in leading edge which sticks in in the middle and out next to that. Thinking of injecting urethane glue (like Gorilla Glue), mushing into correct shape and waiting.

ALso various smallish dings in wing bottom and elsewhere. Tempted to use spot putty, but that might be heavy.

This is my first composite covered wing, previous highest tech was obechi.

Is this thing slow in the wind, or is Anker just spoiled when writing article? My old Anthem was great in the wind with 7037, though it weighed more.

Lincoln Ross

kiesling

45 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2004 :  11:25:27 AM  Show Profile
I highly recommend using metal gears all around.
This is mostly to keep from striping gears during spot landings.
HS-81s or 85s have enough torque for the Vs and ailerons.
HS-225 metal gear or equivalant for the flap.

To remove small dings try using a wet paper towel and a monokote iron.
Just place a wet paper towel over the ding, press the monokote iron on it for a few seconds.
Let it cool, repeat as necessary. You can get most dings out this way - or at least make them much smaller.
This works on painted surfaces, but seems to work a little better on unpainted ones.
Just make sure the towel stays wet so you don't overheat the wing.

As far as wind goes, that is what ballast is for.

Tom

Tom