Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

kiesling

45 Posts

Posted - 10/04/2005 :  4:30:28 PM  Show Profile
I agree pretty much completely with Dale.

I think we need a novice class, not a Masters class.
I have been flying in ESL contests for about 19 years now.
On the whole, to win a contest you have to get all your times
and average in the 90's for you landings. This has been a constant.
The tasks have not changed much over the years (if at all).

What has changed is the number of consistantly competative flyers.
On any given weekend there were a dozen or so people that had a
good shot at winning. Here are some names some of you may remember:
Bill Miller, Bill Meleski, Rob and Bob Teseo, Jack Cash, John Murr,
Marty Albion, Al White, Chris Bovais, and there are many more.

These days, there are still a fair number of competative flier,
or fliers that could be competative if they had a little more time
to practice/go to contests. I think what we need to do is work
to make these pilots better to give the so called Master's a better
challenge. I think this is where a mentor program will help a lot.
Some of the experts are on the verge of becoming consistantly
competative, they just need a few pointers on what to work on to make
it happen. This I think is fairly straight forward and possible if
people are willing to learn and take some advice.

The harder problem is bringing in new blood. A novice class may be
a good way of doing this. I'm not sure what the best way to
impliment such a class would be, but I think it is worth discussing.
One of the problems I noticed with the RES class at the CASA open
is that the launch equipment was not well suited for the entry level
models (Gentle Lady etc.) The winch line and retrievers made it
difficult to launch those models. So perhaps a novice class could
have a more suitible winch set up.

With a novice class, the sportflyer class could be more like its